Tampa DUI Lawyer
DUI Charges in Florida
Florida Statute Section 316.193 provides for the penalties that attached to a conviction for driving under the influence (“DUI”) in Tampa, Hillsborough County, Florida for a first DUI offense.
- Incarceration: Up to six (6) months in the Hillsborough County Jail (if the BAL is .15 or higher or a minor was in the vehicle then the jail time is up to nine (9) months)
- Term of Probation: Up to twelve (12) months
- DUI School: Twelve (12) hour class which includes a substance abuse evaluation and requires completion of any recommended follow-up treatment before any hardship reinstatement
- Community Service: Mandatory 50 hours of community service
- Fine: The required fine for a first DUI in Florida is between $500 and $1,000 (with a BAL of .15 or higher or minor in the vehicle: Not less than $1,000, or more than $2,000. Court may grant community service in lieu of DUI fines if defendant is unable to pay);
- Driver License Revocation Period: Minimum of six (6) months and maximum of twelve (12) months;
- Hardship Reinstatement: In order to reinstate the driver’s license for hardship purposes such as “business purposes” or “work purposes” the driver is required to complete DUI school. You must show proof of liability coverage or FR-44 insurance, pay $115 administrative fee, a $60 reinstatement fee, and a fee for the Florida driver’s license.
- Vehicle impoundment: Unless a hardship showing has been made, the Court must immobilize any vehicle in the defendant’s name for 10 days after any jail sentence is completed.
Free Consultation with an Experienced Tampa DUI Attorney
DUI defendants are not eligible for pre-trial diversion. Your best chances of avoiding these consequences are to hire a qualified attorney within 10 days of your arrest. Within that 10-day period, your lawyer can help you immediately reinstate your license. For a Free Consultation with an experienced Tampa DUI Lawyer, call Jhenerr Hines at (813) 815-0291.